Public Speaking/Events See The Yorkshire Shepherdess Live 

Dear all 
 
Due to the current Covid-19 pandemic, a number of my immediate events have been postponed to later dates. Please find the up-to-date list here on my website, however for further and more detailed information please contact the venues and event ticket outlets directly and they will be able to help you with your queries. 
 
Any additional changes that occur to the schedule of events listed will be communicated as soon as possible. 
 
Thanks so much to everyone for your patience in this challenging time. 
 
Stay safe and see you all soon. 
 
Amanda 
 

  PUBLIC SPEAKING 

Expect straight-talking first hand stories from The Yorkshire Shepherdess, as Amanda talks about her journey from townie teenage Goth to hill shepherdess and mother of 9. The talk is packed with amusing anecdotes, colourful characters and inspiring stories from her two decades spent farming at Ravenseat, all delivered with Amanda’s trademark energy, humour and charm. 
 
Uplifting, inspiring and overwhelmingly positive, perfect for anyone interested in the countryside and rural living. Sessions can include readings from her books, a slideshow, Q&As and an opportunity to really get to know The Yorkshire Shepherdess. 
 

UPCOMING CALENDER OF EVENTS IN 2020/21 

OFFICIAL SPRING 2021 THEATRE TOUR 

DATE 
VENUE 
TICKETS 
Monday 1st March 
Salisbury - City Hall 
Website link 
Tuesday 2nd March 
Guildford - GLive 
Website link 
Monday 8th March 
Crawley - The Hawth 
Website link 
Tuesday 9th March 
Kings Lynn - Corn Exchange 
Website link 
Saturday 13th March 
Lancaster - Grand Theatre 
Website link 
Tuesday 16th March 
Blackpool- Grand Theatre 
Website link 
Friday 19th March 
Kendal- Leisure Centre 
Website link 
Saturday 20th March 
Hull - City Hall 
Website link 
Sunday 21st March 
Leeds - Town Hall 
Website link 
Saturday 27th March 
Wrexham - William Aston Hall 
Website link 
Sunday 28th March 
Port Talbot - Princess Royal Theatre 
Website link 
DATE 
VENUE 
TICKETS 
Wednesday 5th May 
Doncaster - The Cast 
Website link 
Sunday 9th May 
Scarborough - Spa Theatre (2pm & 7.30pm) 
Website link 
Tuesday 11th May 
Milton Keynes - The Stables (3pm & 8pm) 
Website link 
Monday 17th May 
New Brighton - Floral Pavilion 
Website link 
Tuesday 18th May 
Worcester - Huntingdon Hall (3pm & 7.30pm) 
Website link 
Thursday 20th May 
Warrington - Parr Hall 
Website link 
Friday 2st May 
Buxton - Opera House 
Website link 
Tuesday 25th May 
Peterborough - The Cresset 
Website link 
Wednesday 26th May 
Ipswich - Corn Exchange 
Website link 
Sunday 30th May 
Middlesbrough - Town Hall 
Website link 

AMANDA'S SCHEDULE OF SPEAKING EVENTS THROUGHOUT 2020  Please contact venues or event organisers directly to obtain tickets 

DATE 
VENUE 
TICKETS 
Mon 31st Aug 
Settle - Settle Stories Festival 
Online event 
Tues 14th Sept 
Oswestry - Booka Bookshop 
Online event 
Weds 15th Sept 
The Wirral - Linghams 
Online event 
Sun 19th Sept 
Appledore - Appledore Festival 
Details to follow 
Sat 25th Sept 
Wakefield - Children's Charity 
Private event 
Tues 22nd Sept 
South Shields - Write Festival - The Word 
Details to follow 
Fri 25th Sept 
Wakefield - Yorkshire Variety Children’s Charity (afternoon) 
Details to follow 
Sat 26th Sept 
Scarborough - Derwent Valley Bridge Library 
SOLD OUT 
Tues 29th Sept 
Clitheroe - Hurst Green Village Hall 
Contact venue 
Fri 2nd Oct 
Wiltshire - Westbury Festival 
Details to follow 
Fri 2nd Oct 
Westbury, Wiltshire - Westbury Festival 
Details to follow 
Sun 4th Oct 
York - Literature Festival 
Details to follow 
Sat 10th Oct 
Dumfries House, Scotland - Boswell Book Festival 
Thurs 29th Oct 
Stafford - Katharine House Hospice event 
Private event 
Mon 2nd Nov 
Hertford - U3A 
Contact directly 
Fri 13th Nov 
Todmorden - Todmorden Book Festival 
Thurs 19th Nov 
Nottingham - Notts Rural Support Network 
Contact directly 
Sat 21st Nov 
Dorset - Wimborne Festival 
Details to follow 
Fri 4th Dec 
Yorkshire Business Awards 
Private event 
Sun 6th Dec 
Saffron Walden - Saffron Hall 
Details to follow 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TESTIMONIALS  

Below are just a few examples. See more by clicking here 
Amanda presented the story of her life to a capacity audience of five hundred people at Otley in March. 
Amanda talked for over an hour, regaling the audience with tales of her life from her upbringing in Huddersfield back in the 1970s to running a 2,000-acre sheep hill farm at Ravenseat above Keld at the head of Swaledale. Full of humour, but with also some moments of poignancy, the audience lapped up the tales that Amanda recounted. 
 
Some of the comments on the Otley Town Facebook page afterwards were as follows: 
This was a very entertaining evening and was well presented by Amanda on her life as a shepherdess and also how her young happy family join in as little helpers – Joan Mangeolles 
Really enjoyed this – so interesting and she is wonderful – Pat Jackson 
Fantastic evening. What a hardworking fantastic woman – Claire Dabill 
Really enjoyed her talk and photos. Amanda is amazing – Sue Stewart 
What a great lady she is, brilliant, nice couple – Marguerite Enoch 
Very enjoyable night. She is an amazing lady – David Ive 
Amanda presented at the Harrogate International Literature Festivals 
It was such a pleasure to have Amanda Owen at the Raworths Harrogate Literature Festival. She was aspirational yet approachable with a very natural presence on stage that held the audience captivated. Amanda conducted herself with warmth, humour and professionalism throughout her time with us. The pictures she shared of life of the farm added a lovely visual dimension to her event and the feedback we received afterwards showed the audience loved her open and engaging style and found her stories an inspiration. 
Natalie Dalkiran, Literature Festivals Co-ordinator 
Harrogate International Festivals 
'An Evening with Amanda Owen' at The Rotary Club of Thorne in South Yorkshire 
The Rotary Club of Thorne in South Yorkshire held a fund raising event in October 2017 entitled 'An Evening with Amanda Owen'. Over 140 people came to listen to 'The Yorkshire Shepherdess' in our local village hall. She captivated and enthralled her audience with snippets of her life in Huddersfield as a young girl with a clear vision of what she wanted to become.  
 
As time progressed she met her future husband Clive in the beautiful and isolated farm of Ravenseat in the North Yorkshire. There she has lived with husband Clive (Colin, ask Julia Bradbury about that) and brought up nine children in what seems an idyllic setting. A slide show of photographs taken in and around the farm by the family gave us fabulous views and insights of life in Ravenseat. She is renowned authoress, inspired by the books written by Alf White (James Herriot) of 'All Creatures Great and Small'. 
 
The whole audience felt as if they were part of Amanda’s family and went home with big smiles on their faces. 
David Parker, Secretary 
The Rotary Club of Thorne 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings